TW3 – That Was The Week That Was

Still not a lot happening although I was speaking to the smash repairer and the Sunliner door is being painted – we hope to be reunited with her on the 20-21st with a bit of luck.

We’ve tried to make the best of our enforced dalliance in Sydney – I have brought all my documentation up to date so will be ready to file my tax returns as soon as the FY ends!!

Did I tell you that the Sunliner now sports NSW registration plates.

Still with our wings clipped in Sydney we headed off into the Blue Mountains (The Blue Mountains National Park starts just behind where we are staying so we didn’t have to go too far). We went up to Lawson and then walked the “Waterfall Circuit”, the first one we came to being Cataract Falls. It was at Cataract Gorge where the Sunliner was molested – but this was a different Cataract altogether… I had just bought a new camera and so it was an ideal location to try some of the more elaborate settings. We had our son Chris with us who is something of a photography guru and he showed me how to perfect one of the effects I have always wanted to achieve – but never knew how.

Here are some of my initial efforts with the new camera

DSC_0004

I always love it when Rainbow Lorikeets come into the garden. I used to have one as a pet…

DSC_0017

You would swear that the trees had been painted – but this is their natural winter look…

DSC_0019

Delicate Wild Flowers – even winter time has its beauty

DSC_0047

This is Cataract Falls

DSC_0057

You can see the effect I was trying to master – the milkiness of the water

DSC_0060

I am quite happy with my first attempt. All I have to do is remember the settings…

 

 

Clovelly to Bondi

On Monday the 12th it was a public holiday – Queen’s Birthday – and so we decided to go off to Clovelly and do the Coastal Walk to Bondi (and return).

It was a beautiful winter’s day, just touching 20 deg, and clear as any day could be. You never tire of the walk in the clean Pacific Air and the views are always spectacular. We were lucky enough to spot the plumes from 4 or 5 Humpback Whales about 2kms off shore as they migrated North – which is exactly what we should be doing in the next week or so once we get our Sunliner back again.

Stay tuned for another That Was The Week That Was…

DSC_0006

Dawn with the Beautiful view toward Bondi

DSC_0010

I Love it when the Ocean sparkles in the afternoon sun

DSC_0013

Where else but Bondi Beach

Leave a Reply

